Review: The Princeling (Book Three, Morland Dynasty Series) by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

The Princeling (Book Three, Morland Dynasty Series)
by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Release Date:  October 1, 2010
Sourcebooks Publishing

SYNOPSIS:  The Morlands' rise to power, as tenuous as it was unexpected, now faces its greatest threat. Elizabeth I is on the throne and Protestantism is sweeping the land, threatening the position of the Catholic Morlands and forcing them to seek new spheres of influence. John, the heir, rides north to the untamed Borderlands to wed the daughter of a Northumberland cattle lord. But he finds he must first prove himself and win her heart through blood and battle. John's gentle sister Lettice is given in marriage to a ruthless Scottish baron, and in the treacherous court of Mary, Queen of Scots, she learns the fierce lessons of survival. Through birth and death, love and hatred, triumph and heartbreak, the Morlands fight to hold on to their place among England's aristocracy.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

REVIEW: In The Princeling, book three in the Morland Dynasty series, introduces readers to a new generation of Morlands. Paul’s grandson, also named Paul and his wife Elizabeth are now the owners of Morland Place and an aging, yet still feisty Nanette is holding strong as the family matriarch.

England is now ruled by the Protestant Elizabeth I and the hot button topics of the day are what the new Queen will do regarding the topic of religion, her choice of husband and how she is going to handle the antics of her cousin Mary Queen of Scots. Readers follow the Morlands’ adventures at the court of Elizabeth I, to Scotland and the court of Mary Queen of Scots, the wilds of Northumberland and of course, home at Morland Place. As the country’s religious discord heightens it creates an inner conflict of the Catholic and Protestant factions in the Morland family.

Having been really disappointed in book two, The Dark Rose, I believe the series redeemed itself with The Princeling. I really enjoyed this generation of Morlands and the book held my attention from start to finish. One thing about this series is to never get too attached to a member of the Morland family because Eagles has no qualms about killing them off!

Next up in the series is The Oak Apple, which takes place during the time of Charles I and the English Civil War. There is no release date yet for the Sourcebooks re-issue.

For more information, please visit Cynthia Harrod-Eagles' WEBSITE.

FTC DISCLOSURE:  I received this book for review from the lovely people at Sourcebooks.



  1. I enjoyed this one much better than the last too...

  2. Thank you for this review. I liked the bit about not getting too fond of anyone!

  3. I own the first book of this series but haven't gotten around to read it yet. Thanks for the good review.

  4. I haven't had the chance to read this series, I am glad this book is better than the last.

  5. I have blogged back to you, Amy, from my sidebar.

  6. Hi Amy,

    Glad to see that the series has picked up again and that you enjoyed this one more than the there a definite end to this series -- is the next one the last?


Related Posts with Thumbnails

Passages to the Past
All rights reserved © 2013

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique