2015 Release: Mademoiselle Chanel by C.W. Gortner

Be still my heart...check out the incredible next book that C.W. Gortner will be sharing with the world on March 17, 2015!

Cover Not Final
Pub Date: March 17, 2015 | William Morrow | Hardcover; 384p

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes a vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother’s death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle’s exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco—a seamstress and sometime torch singer—the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco’s reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark.

8 comments:

  1. Oh my lord how beautiful is that cover?! This sounds so good....I am counting down for this one!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ooooh. I'm excited about this one!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Looking forward to this book. C,W, Gortner is my favorite author and I like to read about Coco Chanel.

    ReplyDelete
  4. How I got here, I do not know but I did and it is now on my wish list! I don't know if I should throw darts or roses at you ;)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've always love Gortner's books, and seeing him write in a different time period gets me excited for this. Really can't wait for this one!!

    ReplyDelete
  6. C.W. Gortner is such a talented writer! This one should be good.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Can't wait to read this one!

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 

Passages to the Past
All rights reserved © 2013

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique