Giveaway: The Midwife's Tale by Sam Thomas

Today I am honored to be hosting the virtual tour for Sam Thomas's The Midwife's Tale with a giveaway!

Sam Thomas has been touring with Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours since January 7 and The Midwife's Tale has garnered fabulous reviews!  You can see the full schedule of stops HERE.

Publication Date: January 8, 2013  
Publisher: Minotaur Books  
Hardcover; 320p 

In the tradition of Arianna Franklin and C. J. Sansom comes Samuel Thomas’s remarkable debut, The Midwife’s Tale. It is 1644, and Parliament’s armies have risen against the King and laid siege to the city of York. Even as the city suffers at the rebels’ hands, midwife Bridget Hodgson becomes embroiled in a different sort of rebellion. One of Bridget’s friends, Esther Cooper, has been convicted of murdering her husband and sentenced to be burnt alive. Convinced that her friend is innocent, Bridget sets out to find the real killer. Bridget joins forces with Martha Hawkins, a servant who’s far more skilled with a knife than any respectable woman ought to be. To save Esther from the stake, they must dodge rebel artillery, confront a murderous figure from Martha’s past, and capture a brutal killer who will stop at nothing to cover his tracks. The investigation takes Bridget and Martha from the homes of the city’s most powerful families to the alleyways of its poorest neighborhoods. As they delve into the life of Esther’s murdered husband, they discover that his ostentatious Puritanism hid a deeply sinister secret life, and that far too often tyranny and treason go hand in hand. 

Read an excerpt HERE.


"Thomas is a historian by profession and it shows in the wealth of detail with which he recreates the city of York amid the turmoil of the English civil war." —Rhys Bowen, author of the bestselling Royal Spyness series 

 "A heart-stopping page-turner coupled with a gritty and realistic portrayal of two strong and contrasting woman characters vividly depicted against the backdrop of the besieged city of York." —Cora Harrison, author of I Was Jane Austen’s Best Friend 

 "A briskly plotted historical mystery starring a pair of brave, tenacious, intelligent women who take no prisoners and make no apologies." —Lyndsay Faye, author of Gods of Gotham

Sam Thomas is an assistant professor of history at the University of Alabama in Huntsville. He has received research grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Newberry Library, and the British Academy. He has published articles on topics ranging from early modern Britain to colonial Africa. Thomas lives in Alabama with his wife and two children.  

Connect with Sam Thomas: WEBSITE | TWITTER | BLOG


Wednesday, January 30  
Review at The Bookworm 
Review & Giveaway at Oh, for the Hook of a Book! 

Thursday, January 31  
Review at Book of Secrets 
Review at Sharon's Garden of Book Reviews  
Review at The Musings of ALMYBNENR 

Friday, February 1  
Review at Reading the Past  
Review at Impressions in Ink


Passages to the Past has one copy of The Midwife's Tale up for grabs! 

Giveaway is open to US & Canada residents.  To enter the giveaway, please see the Rafflecopter entry form below.

Giveaway ends on February 8th.  Good luck! 

  a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. I love historical mysteries and this one has a heroine in an everyday role so it sounds doubly interesting.

    Thanks for the giveaway opportunity.

  2. I have read nothing but rave reviews for this one, so thanks for the chance to win a copy Amy!

  3. This book sounds right up my alley! Thanks for the opportunity to Sam and Amy.

  4. I've read about this book and am so excited to read it. The plot sounds like it is guaranteed to keep the reader on the edge of their seat!

    Thanks for the great giveaway!

    Connie Fischer

  5. I read this book and it was wonderful!


Related Posts with Thumbnails

Passages to the Past
All rights reserved © 2013

Custom Blog Design by Blogger Boutique

Blogger Boutique